3/21/24 Thurs

A sneak peek into Nora!

Off-Limits Billionaire Boss 

Hi sweetheart!

If you’re a part of my ARC team, you’ve received an invite to read Stuck in Love with my Billionaire Protector.

If you’d like to receive invitations in the future, simply click here to get started.

My fingers have also been busy typing up Nora’s and Rau’ls love story and I want to share a little sneak peek. So without a further ado, I introduce you to Nora. 

Nora

The clicking of my studded leather stilettos against the marble floor of the hallway breaks the silence as I make my way to my desk. Fewer and fewer people glare at my hot pink shoulder length hair and my goth chic fashion each week. Things are slowly starting to normalize around here.

It shouldn’t surprise me that even after a decade at Dunh and Associates, people are slow to become used to how I dress. Especially the newbies. I love watching their eyes grow wide in shock the first time they meet me, almost as if they’ve seen a ghost.

I don’t get what the big deal is. A girl should be able to wear whatever she wants wherever she goes, right?

I place my handbag on my desk and inhale the delicious aroma of my mocha latte before placing it on my desk too. Before I take my seat, I take a quick look at the empty desk across from me and sigh in sadness. Erin’s desk.

Six years after her mysterious disappearance, her desk remains empty. Matt King, a junior partner at the firm, refused to allow anyone else sit there the moment she went missing. And while Matt is long gone now, the firm continues to honor his demand even to this day. It’s our way of holding out hope that we’ll find Erin one day.

Sometimes, I wonder whether he's losing it, waiting for someone for that long. I don't think I'd ever be able to do that.

Maybe I’m jaded, but I find it hard to believe that real, pure love truly exists. The kind that makes you feel that the only thing that matters is building a life with that person. The kind that Erin and Matt shared.

I believe that life is too short to waste partaking in the song and dance of falling in love, getting married and spending the next eighteen years raising children. I can’t think of anything more miserable.

I’d rather work my life away.

One look at my parents is enough to quench the occasional thirst of falling for that trap myself.

As I power on my MacBook for the day, from the corner of my eye, I observe Molly, one of my colleagues, making her way towards me. She quickly leans against my desk, her dark eyes gleaming and her black curls dancing, hinting at her excitement.

"Nora, did you hear?”

Oh no, more gossip?

I’m not in the mood of being a dick to her today, so I smile and shake my head to indicate my cluelessness.

Molly's voice drops a beat as she leans even closer, casting a secretive glance around.

"A new lawyer is starting today."

“A new lawyer?" I echo her words.

"Yes, someone from Texas," she says.

"Hmm," I murmur as I lean in to grab my coffee. As I watch her take a sip of her mug, I wonder how in the hell she found this information out before me. Not that I love to gossip, but I usually get the inside scoop before anyone else here. Being Alex Duhn’s paralegal, the head honcho around here, affords me that privilege.

I take another look at Molly, whose interest has now shifted to a small smudge on her black blazer. Maybe Molly’s spy network has improved – perhaps ‘spy network’ is too grand a term for the gossip mills she's a permanent member of. Or more likely, some unfortunate soul high up in management is sleeping with her, which as uncommon as that may be nowadays, it’s always a possibility.

I smile at Molly and silently begin typing away; she lingers for a moment but quickly takes the hint that I'm not interested in her morning updates. She slowly glides to her desk as I connect to the office Wi-Fi, and immediately, an email notification pops up on my screen.

It's from Alex. I waste no time opening it. Alex tends to be concise, and this email asks me to meet him in his office, first thing in the morning. Maybe it’s about that new lawyer.

I stand up and take a gulp of my mocha latte. I swear coffee courses through my veins. “I’ll be right back,” I inform Molly as I pass by. She nods and turns her attention back to her laptop. With all the gossiping keeping her busy, I'm sure she's behind on yet another deadline I’ll have to stay late to help her for. Sometimes I seriously wonder why they haven't fired her already.

I navigate the corridor leading to Alex's office, a secluded sanctuary nestled in the farthest corner, boasting of unobstructed panoramas of the San Francisco bay. Pausing before the door adorned with "Alex Dunh – Senior Partner" etched in elegant gold script, I subconsciously smooth out any non-existent creases on my jet-black pencil skirt before knocking lightly on the wooden door.

“Come in,” his familiar baritone voice echoes.

I push the door open, and I make my way to his desk as I allow my gaze to stare out the floor to ceiling windows that overlook the bay and I allow my body to feel the warmth of the sunlight as it hugs me like a warm, comforting blanket.

I take a seat across the massive oak desk where Alex sits. His glasses are perched on his forehead, and he has a pen in his right hand as he flips through a heap of paperwork. As I wait for him to complete scrutinizing every detail of his paperwork, I glance at what he's reviewing. It doesn't take me long to realize that it's the report I submitted last Friday.

My heart skips a beat. Did he find an error in my work? Mistakes seldomly happen in my work, I make damn sure of that. So when they do, I take it very personally.

He looks up, his gray eyes as piercing as ever.

“Nora,” he begins in his ever so professional tone, “thanks for seeing me this early. There are a couple of things we need to discuss.” The leather chair I’m sitting on squeaks slightly as I shift, crossing my left leg over my right, and I lean forward, eager to hear what Alex has to say. “First, your work on the Morrison case is excellent,” he begins, and I let out a sigh of relief. “And while we’ll certainly talk more about that, I’d like to discuss some changes that are happening in the firm. I’d like your opinion on them.”

Alex has never asked me for my opinion on office related changes. What’s prompted this change? “My input?”

“Yes,” Alex leans back in his chair, “You've been here for almost... ten years, haven't you?”

“Yes.”

“Well, I’m not getting any younger, so I'm thinking of taking on fewer cases in the coming months.”

“Alex, come on, you’re not old.”

He smiles, something he rarely does. “You’ve always been a shitty liar. That’s why I like you.” His compliment warms my heart. “Fine, how about this? I want to start working less and traveling more. Living more while I still can.”

Is he joking right now? I look at him in astonishment. Did he hit his head or something? This is so unlike him. If anything, we’ve connected over the years over our mutual of workaholism. Hell, he’s the reason I got into this career in the first place. Had it not been for him, I would be another statistic in my neighborhood.

Alex doesn’t seem to notice my bewilderment as he continues, “Jake is perfectly capable of handling things, but I’ll need you to help him with his workload.”

“Consider it done.”

“Thank you, Nora. I know I can always count on you.” Alex slides a single sheet in my direction and I pick it up. It’s yet another raise that I didn’t have to ask for. I know I have it good here, I won’t deny that.

“Oh, before I forget, a new lawyer is joining us.”

A pang of annoyance bolts through me at the thought of Molly hearing the news before me, but I manage to hide it. “So, it’s true then?”

“Yes, Nor. Raul Cardenas comes highly recommended from San Antonio. He’s here to start our criminal division. And given your interest in the field, I thought you’d want to work with him.”

“Texas, you said?”

“Yes. Giver him a chance, will you? He’ll need all the support he can get from us, and I’m counting on you to bring him up to speed on how we work around here.”

I nod in silence and take a deep breath before uttering a word. “You’ve got it, boss.”

This isn’t the first time I’ve been asked to mentor a new attorney around here. It’s also not the first time I’ve managed multiple caseloads. But working with someone from out of state, let alone a cowboy? This should be interesting. I’ll do my best not to eat him alive.

“Raul will be here at 11 AM. I’ll come grab you when I’m ready for you to meet with him.”

I nod and make my way back to my desk.

Raul Cardenas... I bet I’m going to have to teach him how to be ruthless, show no mercy.

I can’t imagine that he’s dealt with a top tier quality firm and clientele from where he comes from. I have a few minutes to kill, I should look him up, see what I can dig up about him.

CEO life was a breeze until I hired my one-night stand.
Then she strolled in with a mini-me surprise…
Cue the office drama.

In my fashion industry lecture, a sultry presence claims a seat,
casting an irresistible spell. My gaze peels away her layers,
revealing a secret craving.

She wants me.

I’m no stranger to seizing what I desire.
She’s mine for the taking.

As an ex-SEAL turned fashion mogul,
I don’t waste time with niceties.

I play my cards without hesitation,
and she willingly yields to my compelling dominance.

Fast forward to my corner office,
and there sits my captivating escapee.

Skylar

One night, she stole my heart…
The next morning, she shattered it.

Now, she’s my employee, and lust electrifies the air.
Desire intensifies, reaching a fever pitch.

Until my five-year-old self gazes up at me,
hand-in-hand with my office temptress.

I can lawyer up, follow my heart's compass,
or roll the dice and risk losing everything I thought I never wanted.Gimme this book!

XOXO,

Jade Styles