3/28/24 Thurs

A sneak peek into Raul!

Off-Limits Billionaire Boss 

Hi sweetheart!

If you’re a part of my ARC team, you’ve received an invite to read Stuck with the Damaged Billionaire.


If you’d like to receive invitations in the future, simply click here to get started.

We’re so close to the release of Nora’s and Rau’ls complete love story, but I want to share a little sneak peek in the meantime. This next peek is dedicated all about Raul. 

Raul

Stepping out of the taxi, my senses are immediately assaulted by the potent scent of the ocean air, a distinctive characteristic of San Francisco's Financial District. I quicken my steps as I enter the towering building that stands shoulder to shoulder with a host of other skyscrapers. The home of Dunh & Associates.

I hold my briefcase in my right hand and check my Rolex in my left. It's still 10:45 AM; I’m running a ahead of schedule, just the way I like.

As I ascend in the elevator to the 20th floor, I gaze out of the glass wall. The Bay Area is stunning, but I can’t shake the pang of guilt I feel at the pit of my stomach over leaving Mom behind back in Texas.

I knew that I didn't want to take over my father’s oil empire, but I never thought that I’d pay dearly for standing up to him. My father decided to stop talking to me; denying him the only thing he's always expected of me was the hardest thing I’d ever had to do. I am his only child, after all.

The elevator doors slide open, and I’m instantly impressed with the direction the firm’s taken with their decor. Exposed brick walls throughout, floor to ceiling windows to let in the sunshine, tastefully worn hardwood floors, and industrial-styled furniture.

An elegantly dressed receptionist greets me with a bright smile. “I'm here to meet Mr. Alex Dunh.” I respond with a smile of my own, instantly feeling at home.

“Please have a seat, I’ll get Alex for you.”

Within moments, an older man in a black suit approaches me. I stand as he draws closer, and he extends his hand. “Raul, welcome to Dunh & Associates. Or more appropriately, welcome to San Francisco. We’re thrilled to have you.”

“Thank you, Mr. Dunh.” I offer him a confident handshake and make sure to not break eye contact.

“Please, call me Alex.” He gives my shoulder a gentle pat. “Let's head to my office for a chat.”

“This place is impressive, much better than the photos on the website,” I comment as we walk side by side.

“We recently remodeled, the pictures will be updated soon.”

“The office must be doing great, you guys basically gutted this place!” I remark. Alex turns his attention in my direction, a small look of annoyance on his face.

“It’s the kinds of perks employees work for nowadays. Back in my day, I was happy with the tiny cubicle I was given. Nowadays, employee benefits must include free cappuccinos and coconut water, gourmet lunches, state of the art gyms, and a pretty place to work in.” Alex holds the door open for me to enter his office.

“Alex, are you trying to scare the newest talent away? You forgot to mention that those perks you hate are the reason people practically line out the doorstep for a chance to be a part of our record high wins year after year.” A commanding voice from behind us says. We turn in his direction, and I instantly recognize him. Jake, Alex’s son, who will most likely be co-managing partner in no time, walks up to us. We shake hands in silence and Alex walks into his office.

“Since you;’re here, join us, won’t you?” Alex sits in his chair behind his enormous solid oak desk and gestures Jake and I to sit in the two leather chairs across from him. “Raul, I'm so glad that you've decided to join us; I know you'll fit right in.”

“Alex told me that you’re going to get the criminal wing going. How ... aggressive of you,” Jake sizes me up, a look of distrust on his face. I’m sure he’s not happy with not having a say in my hiring. It’s a good thing I came prepared for these kinds of dynamics.

“With the firm’s backing, and your expertise, the wing will be a huge success in no time, you’ll see.” I slightly turn my body towards Jake to show him my full attention. I notice his demeanor turn a little less rigid, and he gives me a small nod to show his appreciation.

“When did you arrive to town?” Alex asks, and I turn my attention back to him.

"Last night."

"And where are you staying?"

“I got an apartment in the Pacific Heights neighborhood."

"Ah, that's a great neighborhood."

“And we're excited to have you here," Jake finally says as he unbuttons his suit. "We don't usually hire anyone who didn’t go to Standford, you know. But Alex says that you came highly recommended."

I smile at his compliment. While I’m flattered, I know that it also carries a hint of burden to perform to the expectations they have placed on me. And I know what I’ve promised won’t be easy to accomplish.

“It’s not like Jake is fresh out of law school,” Alex says. Perhaps I didn’t do a well enough job hiding my unease. “I know you’re going to do great things here. But with you just landing yesterday, how about you take a few days to get settled in and we make your first day next Monday?”

"No, I want to start tomorrow.” The worst thing that I could do is have free time. Time that will be spent thinking about the life both my parents want for me, and the pain I’m causing for not following that path.  

“Look at you, exceeding our expectations already,” Jake says. “The earlier you can jump in, the better. Alex, have you assigned a paralegal to Raul yet?”

"Yes, I have," Alex pauses as an assistant comes in with three cappuccinos. “I think Nora will be a great resource for him. She has the most experience around here and is the best paralegal we’ve ever had. If anyone can handle starting a new department, it’ll be her.” I notice a slight change in Jake's expression at the mention of that. There's a brief exchange of glances between him and Alex, but I can’t quite figure out what they mean.

"Nora's fantastic. She is one of the best we've ever had," Jake says. His choice of words don’t go unnoticed to me. And while I’ll be too busy to find out what that’s all about, I can’t help but feel like an outsider in this obviously tight-knit group of people. Will they ever truly accept me as one of them?

Our meeting drags on, discussing the cases I've been involved in and the projects the firm is working on. “Like you, I’m starting a new department myself; real estate,” Jake says. “With Portland as my main focus. The city is an untapped market in the commercial world.”

I sense a slight change in mood from Alex at the mention of Jake's plans. Maybe he's not all that approving of his plans and I can’t help but feel for the guy. At the very least, we have that in common. Jake must feel the unease too as he stands up. "Raul, why don't you come with me so I can introduce you to Nora?"

I stand up, leaving my cup of coffee on the desk, take my leave from Alex, not forgetting to thank him once again for having me, and follow Jake out onto the hallway. Outside of Alex’ oasis, I can hear hushed conversations in the background, the tapping of keyboards, and the ringing of phones. I follow Jake in silence, absorbing my new surroundings.

He points to a door on the right, with his name on the door. "This here is my office, and you’ll be next door. That’s my best friend’s old office, so you better take care of it," he gently elbows me on my arm and releases a small chuckle that puts me at ease.

We walk further down the hallway, and Jake stops just before turning the corner into the paralegal’s bullpen, turns to me, and with a wicked smile, says, “Please don’t judge a book by its cover.”

But before I can pry any information out of him, Jake continues to walk and I follow right behind him, only to find four women working in their cubicles, glued to their screens. It only takes me a second to spot a woman with hot pink hair and black-framed cat eye glasses. How is someone dressed like she’s going to a heavy metal concert working at a law firm like this?

While I'm contemplating her, Jake walks over to her desk. "Nora."

She looks up, and her piercing blue eyes stare me up and down as she stands from the seat. Despite the goth princess look she’s got going on, I can't help but notice how stunning she is.

"Ah! This must be the cowboy I was promised," she says with a smirk.

I'm speechless for a moment, and Jake looks at me and smiles. "Don't worry, she doesn't usually bite." He looks back at her, "Nora, please don't scare him away."

“Nora Carter at your service.” She offers her hand, and I shake hands with her. Her grip is firm, as bold as her looks.

“Raul Cardenas. Pl — pleasure to meet you.” I try to force a smile, not to show my shock.

“Don't worry, you'll get used to the clothes,” she says with a smile and turns to the right, where a second paralegal is standing with an amused look, “This is Molly.”

Nora goes on to introduce me to the rest of the paralegals. They all seem happy to see me, and it's evident that Nora is the leader among them. She looks older than the others, maybe the same age as me, in her late twenties.

“Nora, can you give Raul the tour to the rest of our offices?” Jake asks, walking away before Nora has a chance to answer. “I'll be in my office if you need anything.”

I nod at Jake and turn my attention back to Nora. She grins, “So cowboy, what would you like to see first?”

Coming up next week: the final sneak peek! Stay tuned for a taste of their love. 

CEO life was a breeze until I hired my one-night stand.
Then she strolled in with a mini-me surprise…
Cue the office drama.

In my fashion industry lecture, a sultry presence claims a seat,
casting an irresistible spell. My gaze peels away her layers,
revealing a secret craving.

She wants me.

I’m no stranger to seizing what I desire.
She’s mine for the taking.

As an ex-SEAL turned fashion mogul,
I don’t waste time with niceties.

I play my cards without hesitation,
and she willingly yields to my compelling dominance.

Fast forward to my corner office,
and there sits my captivating escapee.

Skylar

One night, she stole my heart…
The next morning, she shattered it.

Now, she’s my employee, and lust electrifies the air.
Desire intensifies, reaching a fever pitch.

Until my five-year-old self gazes up at me,
hand-in-hand with my office temptress.

I can lawyer up, follow my heart's compass,
or roll the dice and risk losing everything I thought I never wanted.Gimme this book!

XOXO,

Jade Styles