Chapter 6 Sneak Peek

Stuck with the Billionaire Cowboy

Hi my beautiful gem!

This week, I’d like to share a little about what Serafina has been up to!

Before you proceed, please remember that all chapters are still under construction, so please excuse any small typos / other small imperfections, and stay tuned for the final version, expected to be ready early September.

Ready?

Chapter 6: Serafina

Numbers swim before my eyes as I try to focus on the spreadsheets in front of me. It's hard to concentrate when a certain grey-eyed boxer keeps intruding into my thoughts.

The way his unruly raven hair falls over his forehead, the way his muscles ripple beneath his skin as he moves, the way his grey eyes light up every time he smiles. It's all I can think about.

I shake my head, frustrated with myself. C'mon, Serafina, focus. You've got a job to do. This business won't run itself. The family is counting on you.

A knock at the door startles me out of my reverie.

"Come in," I call out, straightening up and smoothing my dark hair that’s currently flattened and sleek.

Enzo, one of my brothers, pokes his head in. "Got a special delivery for you, little sis."

"For me? What is it?"

He steps inside, holding a large potted plant. My breath catches. It's the variegated monstera I've been eyeing at the nursery for weeks now. The one with the delicate fenestrated leaves and creamy marbling. A true beauty.

"Where did this come from?" I ask in awe as he sets it on the corner of my desk.

Enzo shrugs. "No idea."

I trail my fingers reverently over the glossy leaves. "It's stunning. Grazie."

He nods at my gratitude and slips away, leaving me alone with the unexpected gift. I study the plant carefully, wondering who could have possibly bought me such an extravagant present. It's clear that this person knows me well, but at the same time, who? And how? I haven't told anyone about my secret visits to the plant store or my aspirations of opening a shop someday.

Do they really understand or does the gift carry a more sinister message? One that haunts me with the reminder that I am never truly alone. That my secrets are not safe. The conflicting emotions swirl inside me as I try to appreciate the gesture but also push away the sense of discomfort it brings.

What I wouldn't give to surround myself with lush greenery instead of cold hard cash and even colder men arguing over territories and power plays. But instead, I’m trapped in a world where I live with the looming threat of being forced into marriage to whoever can offer my family the most power. If my family knew that I dream of escaping this reality, they'd stick me in a dank cell and chuck the key into the ocean's abyss.

I sigh, turning back to the numbers that suddenly seem so meaningless. My dreams will have to wait. Right now, there's work to do. I'll have to solve the mystery of my secret plant admirer later...

A knock at the door jolts me from my daydream. I look up to see Dominic filling the doorframe, his expression unreadable. "Enzo said you got a delivery."

I nod, gesturing to the plant. "It's beautiful, isn't it?"

He arches a brow. "Who's it from?"

"Non lo so." I shrug. "There wasn't a note."

Dominic steps closer, his gaze sharpening. "It better not be from some boyfriend. You know the rules, Serafina."

Heat spreads across my cheeks. “You mean the ones that say I'm not allowed to have a life outside of this family?"

"The ones that keep you safe," he counters, jaw clenched. "You know how dangerous it is out there for a girl like you."

"Oh, spare me the protective older brother act," I snap. "I'm not a child anymore, Dominic. I can take care of myself."

"Can you?" He leans in, voice low and threatening. "Because from where I'm standing, it looks like you're getting distracted. Losing focus on what's important."

I meet his gaze head-on, refusing to back down. "And what's that? Being a good little soldier? Following orders without question?"

"It's about loyalty," he growls. "Famiglia comes first. Always."

"Hey, hey, calma." Enzo appears in the doorway, hands raised in a placating gesture. "Let's all take a breath, okay?"

Dominic straightens, smoothing his tie. "This conversation isn't over," he warns me before stalking out.

Enzo, the peacemaker between Dominic and I ever since I can remember, shoots me a sympathetic look. "You alright, Sera?"

I slump back in my chair, suddenly exhausted. "I'm fine. Just..." I wave a hand vaguely. "Tired of all this, you know?"

"I know." He moves to perch on the edge of my desk. "But you gotta be careful, Sera. Dominic's not wrong about the dangers out there. You’re more than just a girl, you’re a key to the biggest players in Oakland. Gotta play it smart."

"I know, I know," I insist, but even to my own ears it sounds weak.

Enzo sighs. "Just...watch your back, okay? And try not to poke the bear too much." He nods toward the door Dominic just walked through.

"No promises." I flash him a cheeky grin.

He rolls his eyes fondly. "Stubborn as always." Rising, he drops a quick kiss on my head. "Holler if you need anything."

"I will. Grazie, Enzo."

As the door clicks shut behind him, I turn back to the mystery plant, stroking a finger down one of its silky leaves.

Who sent you? And why?

Questions for later. With a sigh, I force my attention back to the ledger in front of me. These numbers won't crunch themselves, no matter how much I might wish it. But even as I work, my mind keeps circling back to the plant...and the secret admirer who sent it.

———

After a long day of tedious number crunching, I finally escape the office and head straight to Verde Paradiso, the plant store I frequent on my way to my secret boxing classes. The place is an oasis, a hidden gem tucked away from the chaos of the city streets. As I step inside, the scent of rich soil and lush greenery envelops me, and I can feel some of the tension easing from my shoulders.

I spot a familiar face behind the counter and make my way over. "Ciao, Talia," I greet her with a smile.

"Serafina!" Talia's eyes light up. "How's my favorite plant enthusiast? Here to finally buy that plant you’ve been eying?"

I shake my head, leaning against the counter. “Looks like someone else beat me to it. I’m hoping you can help me solve a little mystery."

Talia leans in conspiratorially. "Ooh, intrigue! Tell me more."

"Someone sent me the plant at work today," I explain. "That variegated monstera I've been eyeing? But there was no card, no clue who it's from. You wouldn't happen to know anything about that, would you?"

Talia scrunches up her face as she thinks. "Let me dig around a bit." She starts clicking away on her laptop. "Aha! Found it. Looks like someone paid cash this morning. And from the video, I can tell it was a petite woman."

“Can I see the footage?”

Talia hesitates, then replies with a mischievous smile. “I’m going to step away from my station to help another customer.” With a wink, she steps away from the laptop and leaves me alone. I eagerly click play on the video, my heart racing with anticipation. Unfortunately, I don’t recognize the woman on the screen.

She's petite and slender with flowing blonde locks; she couldn't be more than twenty years old. Perhaps someone paid her to make the purchase in order to throw off suspicion. A dead end.

“Any luck?” Talia whispers, breaking through my disappointment.

"No. All good though, it was a long shot anyway."

"A secret admirer, perhaps?" Talia suggests with a playful grin.

I chuckle, but it rings a bit hollow. If only it were that simple. In my world, an anonymous gift is more cause for concern than celebration. Still, I paste on a smile for Talia's benefit. "Maybe so. Guess I'll just have to wait and see if they make another move."

We chat a bit longer, Talia filling me in on the latest arrivals and care tips. But even as I nod along, my mind is elsewhere, turning over this new puzzle piece.

Who is this mysterious woman? And what's her angle?

Want to catch up on Lucas & Sera’s love story?

Just click on each chapter to read on!

Stay tuned for more sneak peeks!

Would you like a chance to win a gift card?

Each month, I randomly choose three winners, and all you have to do is:

1. Follow me on Amazon by clicking here

2. Reply to this email with a snapshot of your follow

That’s it! Please note that no purchase is necessary to be entered into this giveaway.

If you haven’t yet submitted a review, I lovingly encourage you to do so. As an Indie author, every review you submit makes a HUGE difference in my journey.  

“What do you do after being dumped on your birthday? Have a one-night stand of course.”

15 years older, mysterious predatory eyes that make you feel vulnerable, deep voice and defined muscles.  

I feel like a goddess. He worshipped every part of my body. 

4 months later my dream turns into a nightmare when Mr. Handsome introduces himself as my boss.

We dance around each other for weeks. How can I keep out of his way when he is the intoxicating mixture of power and charisma. I’m losing my mind. My body just wants to be in his vicinity.

What could possibly go wrong when the man you can’t be with is not only your boss but also your brother’s best friend and neighbor?

XOXO,

Jade Styles